What is Sexual Harassment Training?

Sexual harassment training is a form of compliance training common in organizations of all shapes and sizes. Mandated by the Federal and CA state laws, this anti harassment training California is aimed at preventing workplace sexual harassment in any form, including inappropriate remarks, unwanted physical contact, showing pornographic material, and demands for sexual favors.

Use this 1-hour sexual harassment training course for employees to stay compliant with Federal and State laws. Sexual harassment training is vital to reducing workplace violence and providing a safe work environment.

  • Federal & State compliant
  • 1-hour training for employees
  • Available in English & Spanish

What Makes Our Online Sexual Harassment Training Better?

Online Sexual Harassment Training for Employees California

This ProProfs training course meets current Federal and California sexual harassment training requirements. It is designed by legal professionals to help you deploy harassment training to employees and ensure compliance.

ProProfs doesn't just give you a course, you also get our powerful Training Maker software, which means you can fully customize the course to fit your company's needs and preferences.

You also get our learning classroom, which makes it easy for you to assign courses and track compliance. Training employees on sexual harassment has always been a time-intensive process, but you can make it easier for you and your employees with this online sexual harassment course.

  • Administer courses quickly & easily
  • Customize with your branding
  • Add your company policies & docs
  • Track compliance

Features

  • Federal & state compliant California sexual harassment training Federal & CA State Compliant

    Meets U.S. Federal and California state sexual harassment training requirements.

  • Auto-generated reports Auto Generated Reports

    Access auto-generated reports and stats to view assignments, completions, and scores.

  • View & access California sexual harassment training courses anytime anywhere Anytime, Anywhere Learning

    View and access training courses on laptops, tablets, or smartphones from anywhere.

  • Self-paced learning Self-Paced Learning

    Employees can take the course on their schedule and can start, pause and resume as needed.

  • Real-life case studies and examples to illustrate workplace sexual harassment Real-Life Scenarios

    Includes real-life case studies and examples to illustrate sexual harassment at the workplace.

  • Integrate quizzes and surveys in a California sexual harassment training course Interactive Quizzes

    Quizzes, surveys, and final exam are included to assess knowledge retention and learning objectives.

  • Manage CA sexual harassment training course using centralized online classrooms with our LMS Virtual Classroom

    Manage courses and learners easily using a centralized online classroom with our LMS.

  • Online CA sexual harassment training course completion certificate Completion Certificate

    Employees can retake quizzes and final exams. Everyone is guaranteed a completion certificate.

  • 24/7 phone and live chat support 24/7 Support

    Email, phone, and live chat support for round-the-clock assistance of any sort.

Who Is This Course For?

CA Sexual harassment training course online for employees

This Employee Sexual Harassment Training course is designed for employees at different positions across all industries. It is based on state-mandated sexual harassment training requirements in California.

This course is indispensable for all types of California businesses that need to stay in compliance with state laws.

You can customize this course to meet your specific business objectives. You can enroll and train your employees seamlessly with ProProfs Training Maker software.

Get This Course

Course Outline

#1   Course Overview
  • Course Overview
#2   Laws Governing Sexual Harassment
  • Federal Laws
  • State Laws
  • Flashcards: Gender Identity
  • Test Your Knowledge
  • Chapter Feedback
#3   Introduction to Sexual Harassment
  • What is Sexual Harassment?
  • What is Not Sexual Harassment?
  • Where Can Sexual Harassment Occur?
  • Who Can be the Target?
  • Who Can be the Perpetrator?
  • Handout: Recognizing Sexual Harassment
  • Scenario
  • Test Your Knowledge
  • Chapter Feedback
#4   Types Of Sexual Harassment
  • Quid Pro Quo
  • Scenario
  • Hostile Work Environment
  • Scenario
  • Worksheet: Types of Sexual Harassment
  • Test Your Knowledge
  • Chapter Feedback
#5   Retaliation
  • Protected Activities
  • What Is Retaliation?
  • What Is Not Retaliation?
  • Handout: Possible Signs of Retaliation
  • Scenario
  • Test Your Knowledge
  • Chapter Feedback
#6   When Sexual Harassment Occurs
  • What Should I Do If I Am Harassed?
  • Handout: How Complaints at EEOC Work
  • Handout: How Complaints at DFEH Work
  • What Should I Do if I Witness Sexual Harassment?
  • Handout: 4 D's of Bystander Intervention in Preventing Sexual Harassment
  • What Can I Do if I’m Falsely Accused of Sexual Harassment?
  • Remedies for the Victims of Sexual Harassment
  • Scenario
  • Test Your Knowledge
  • Chapter Feedback
#7   Preventing Sexual Harassment
  • Employer Responsibilities
  • Supervisor Responsibility
  • Employee Responsibility
  • Scenario
  • Test Your Knowledge
  • Chapter Feedback
#8   Conclusion
  • Assessment
  • Course Handouts
  • Course Feedback
Get This Course

What You’ll Learn

CA Sexual Harassment Training course for employees

Upon completion of this CA Sexual Harassment Training course, your employees will be able to confidently:

  • Define sexual harassment
  • Explain laws which prohibit workplace harassment
  • Describe the different types of sexual harassment
  • List the consequences of engaging in harassment
  • Understand the protocol for addressing complaints
  • Know how to prevent harassment
Get This Course

What Are the Federal & State Training Requirements?

Federal: Fair Employment and Housing Act and Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act of 1964, FEHA and Title VII statutory provisions and case law concerning the prohibition against and the prevention of retaliation in employment, unlawful sexual harassment, discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity, such as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT).

To make it easy for you, we’ve provided state-wise sexual harrassment prevention training requirements below along with recommended customizable and ready-to-use training courses.

State

California(AB 1825, AB 2053 and S.B. 396, S.B 1343)

Connecticut (Connecticut Human Rights and Opportunity Act)

Delaware (Delaware Discrimination in Employment Act)

Illinois (Illinois Human Rights Act)

Maine (Sexual Harassment Training and Education in the Workplace Law)

New York (New York State Division of Human Rights)

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

Training Requirements

Starting January 1, 2020, Senate Bill 1343 requires employers with 5 or more employees, including temporary or seasonal employees, to provide at least 2 hours of sexual harassment training to all supervisory employees and at least one hour of sexual harassment training to all nonsupervisory employees, and once every 2 years thereafter, as specified.

Cal. Gov Code §12950. AB 2053 amends Cal. Gov Code §12950 Learn more

Beginning October 1, 2019, employers, regardless of size, must provide 2 hours of sexual harassment training to all employees. All employees hired on or after October 1, 2019, must receive the training within six months of hire.

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46a-54(15)(B). Conn. Agencies Regs. § 46a-54-204. Learn more

Employers with 4 or more employees, including state and local governments must provide sexual harassment training to all employees within six months of assuming office, and the training must be conducted every two years. It also applies to employment agencies and to labor organizations.

(HB 360) Learn more

Effective January 1, 2020, SB75 requires all employers with 1 or more employees to provide sexual harassment prevention training to all employees and supervisors within the first calendar week of the employee's employment, and on an annual basis thereafter.

Comp. Stat., Chap. 775, § 2-105(B)(5). Learn more

All employers with 15 or more employees who are located in or doing business in the state of Maine must train all employees about sexual harassment within a year of the beginning of their employment.

26 Me. Rev. Stat. § 807(3). Learn more

Beginning October 9, 2018, all private and public employers in the state of New York are required to conduct annual anti-harassment training for all employees and distribute a written anti-harassment policy. Learn more

Not required, but recommended. The state encourages employers to take any necessary preventative measures against sexual harassment because prevention is the best way to eliminate sexual harassment. Suggested methods include raising the issue, condemning sexual harassment, and discussing employees’ rights in sexual harassment incidents. Learn more

View All Harassment Courses

Training Maker Includes

Frequently Asked Questions

What is California sexual harassment training for employees?

The California sexual harassment training (employees) is a sexual harassment prevention training intended for employees. Sexual harassment in any form is illegal under the California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA). It prohibits discrimination against employees on the grounds of gender and other reasons. Businesses in California with five or more employees are required to provide this anti-sexual harassment training to their workforce within six months of hiring and retrain them every two years.

How many courses can a user take?

As many as they want. Your account comes with 100+ ready-to-use courses including DEI, sexual harassment, OSHA, HIPAA & many more. There is no charge per course.

How do I assign courses to my employees?

There are many options. You can bulk-upload contacts from spreadsheets, send email links to learners for self-enrollment, or connect ProProfs with your HRIS, which auto-syncs your contact database. Here’s a quick guide to learn How to Bulk-Import Contacts in ProProfs LMS.

Are LGBTQIA+ employees protected from workplace sexual harassment?

Yes, LGBTQIA+ employees are protected from workplace sexual harassment, just like all other employees. The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, EEOC, has said that workplace harassment because of an employee's gender identity or expression is sexual harassment. Harassment that happens because someone doesn’t fit traditional gender stereotypes of masculinity or femininity is a type of sexual harassment. Workplace harassment against LGBT people is always rooted in other people's belief that they are not acting how a woman or man "should" act, therefore making it sexual harassment.

It is unlawful to harass a person because of that person's sex, including the person's sexual orientation, gender identity, or pregnancy. Learn More

Who needs to take employee sexual harassment training California?

All employees based in California must be given California sexual harassment training. Temporary and seasonal employees are also required to be trained within 100 hours of working or 30 calendar days, whichever comes first. Organizations need to ensure that sexual harassment prevention training is completed either individually online or as a part of a group presentation.

What are the latest workplace sexual harassment laws in California?

California Senate Bill 1343, which was signed into law in October 2018 by Governor Jerry Brown, further expanded the requirements for sexual harassment training in the state. Now employers with at least five non-supervisory employees are required to provide one hour of classroom or other “effective interactive training and education” on sexual harassment prevention. Another bill SB 778 extended the deadline for training from January 1, 2020 to January 1, 2021.

When does this course start and finish?

This course is self-paced, and is available as soon as you open your account. You can assign the course to your employees anytime, and you can set deadlines for them. The course is always available to you, so you can require employees to take it again or as required by your policy or state (e.g. every two years).

How long do I get the course access?

As long as your account is active, you can access the course. If you cancel your account, you will lose access to the course.

What happens when an employee leaves?

You can archive the user if they leave your organization. The reports would remain intact, and it would free up the license so you can now train a new employee without any additional cost.

Can I edit the course?

Yes. You can make any changes to the course, such as adding your logo, company information, or custom content. If you do make changes, please check federal and state guidelines to ensure you maintain compliance.

How is the course accessed?

You will be able to administer and manage the course from your ProProfs Training Maker account. You can share the course with your employees using our Classroom feature. Or you may send them an email containing a link to the course if you prefer. Your employees can access the course via phone, tablet, or desktop. You can set up groups and automate course notifications & reminders.

How can I add my company’s harassment policy to the course?

There is a placeholder location in the course where you can add your company’s harassment policy. You can type in, copy and paste or even upload files directly into the training course, including: zip, doc, docx, ppt, pptx, pdf, swf, jpg, png, gif, flv, mp4, mp3, m4v. You can also add your policy to the classroom as a downloadable file.

Do you provide learner tracking (LMS)?

Yes. ProProfs Training Maker is a complete Learning Management System (LMS). You can automate reminders, ensure compliance, track all records, create groups and group admins, integrate with SCORM, xAPI and more. You can create course bundles and learning paths, and access insightful reports and analytics. You can also build your own courses for any other training needs.

How can I access training reports?

The course completion and pending reports are automatically generated in your account. You can share access to these reports easily within your company. You can also use these reports to send reminders to improve completion.

Can I pay one time to access this?

You can pay a one-time annual fee and access the course for a full 12 months. We also have a monthly payment program that allows you to access the course on a month-to-month basis. Remember that your active subscription includes full access to all sexual harassment courses, more than 35 additional training courses, as well as completion certificates, and all training records.

ProProfs is a Recognized Leader in Employee Training

Press & Ratings

Create a Course Get a Demo