What is Sexual Harassment Training?

Sexual harassment training is a form of compliance training common in organizations of all shapes and sizes. Mandated by Federal and Connecticut laws, this training is aimed at preventing workplace sexual harassment in any form, including inappropriate remarks, unwanted physical contact, showing pornographic material, and demands for sexual favors.

Employers in Connecticut that employ three or more employees must provide training to all their employees. New employees hired after October 1, 2019, must be trained within six months of hire, while all current employees must be trained by October 1, 2020.

  • Federal & Connecticut compliant
  • 2-hour training for employees
  • 2-hour training for managers & supervisors
  • Available in English & Spanish

What Makes Our Online Sexual Harassment Training Better?

Connecticut Sexual Harassment Training Course Online

The ProProfs training course meets current Federal and Connecticut sexual harassment training requirements. The course is designed by legal professionals to help you easily deploy harassment compliance training to employees and ensure compliance.

ProProfs doesn't just give you a course; you also get our powerful Training Maker software, which means you can fully customize the course to fit your company's needs and preferences.

You also get our virtual classroom, which makes it easy for you to assign courses and track progress to ensure compliance. With ProProfs, you eliminate the time-intensive process of sexual harassment training and make it easier for both your HR and employees.

  • Administer courses quickly & easily
  • Customize with your branding
  • Add your company policies & docs
  • Track progress in real-time

Features

  • Federal & state compliant for Connecticut sexual harassment training Federal & State Compliant

    Meets U.S. Federal and Connecticut requirements for sexual harassment training.

  • Auto-generated reports Auto-Generated Reports

    Access auto-generated reports and stats to view assignments, completion rates, and scores.

  • View & access Connecticut sexual harassment training courses anytime anywhere Anytime, Anywhere Learning

    View and access training courses on laptops, tablets or smartphones.

  • Self-paced learning Self-Paced Learning

    Employees can take the course on their schedule and can start, pause, and resume as needed.

  • Real-life case studies and examples to illustrate Connecticut workplace sexual harassment Real-Life Scenarios

    Includes real-life case studies and examples to illustrate workplace sexual harassment.

  • Integrate quizzes and surveys in a Connecticut sexual harassment training course Interactive Quizzes

    Quizzes, surveys and final exam included to assess knowledge retention and learning objectives.

  • Manage Connecticut sexual harassment training using centralized online classrooms with our LMS Virtual Classroom

    Manage courses and learners easily using centralized online classrooms with our LMS.

  • Online Connecticut sexual harassment training completion certificate Completion Certificate

    Employees can retake quizzes and final exam. Everyone is guaranteed a certificate on successful completion of a course.

  • 24/7 phone and live chat support 24/7 Support

    Round-the-clock and hassle-free email, phone, and live chat support.

Who Is This Course For?

Connecticut Sexual harassment training course for supervisors

This Connecticut mandatory sexual harassment training course is designed for both employees and supervisors at all levels and working in different industries. It is based on state-mandated sexual harassment training requirements.

Employers who are looking to establish a code of conduct in their organizations and prevent unwanted cases of sexual harassment will find this online sexual harassment training course particularly helpful.

The course can be used as-is or customized to fit your training needs. It’s easy to enroll learners and train them using ProProfs Training Maker software.

  • Small companies
  • Large companies
  • Employees
  • Supervisors & Managers

Course Outline

#1   Course Overview
  • Legal Disclaimer
  • Course Objectives
#2   Introduction to Sexual Harassment
  • Welcome
  • What Is Sexual Harassment?
  • Quid Pro Quo Sexual Harassment
  • Examples of Quid Pro Quo Harassment
  • Hostile Work Environment
  • Example of Hostile Work Environment
  • Sexual Harassment Is an Abuse of Power
  • What Makes an Environment Sexually Hostile?
  • Who Is Protected by Sexual Harassment Laws?
  • Who Can Be a Sexual Harasser?
  • Where Can Sexual Harassment Happen?
  • More Examples of Sexual Harassment
  • Quiz
  • Chapter Feedback
#3   Sexual Harassment Laws
  • Sexual Harassment Is Illegal Under Federal Law
  • Sexual Harassment Is Illegal Under Connecticut Law
  • Connecticut Law (continued)
  • Connecticut Law (continued)
  • Connecticut Law (continued)
  • Remedies for Victims of Sexual Harassment Conn. Gen. Stat. 46a-86
  • Remedies for Violating Sexual Harassment Laws (Continued)
  • Where Else Is Sexual Harassment Illegal?
  • Quiz
  • Chapter Feedback
#4   Best Practices
  • What to Do if You're Being Sexually Harassed at Work
  • What Is the Employer Responsibility for Harassment?
  • Best Practices to Prevent Sexual Harassment
  • What Is an Employer Legally Liable For?
  • Can an Employee Be Personally Liable?
  • Employer Best Practices: Complaint Reporting Procedure
  • Employer's Best Practices for Investigating Complaints
  • Employer's Investigation Is Key
  • Employer's Investigation
  • Employer Best Practices: Discipline Where Harassment Substantiated
  • Employer Best Practices: When the Investigation Is Completed
  • Employer Best Practices: Remedying Sexual Harassment
  • Quiz
  • Chapter Feedback
#5   The Changing World of Sexual Harassment Claims
  • The Changing World of Sexual Harassment Claims
  • #MeToo Backlash
  • Microaggressions
  • Workplace Bullying
  • Gender Identity
  • When Protected Classes Clash
  • Sexual Harassment Not Limited to Male/ Female
  • Quiz
  • Chapter Feedback
#6   Filing a Complaint
  • CHRO Offices
  • Protected Classes In Connecticut
  • 300 Day Statute of Limitations
  • Quiz
  • Chapter Feedback
#7   Sexual Harassment Case Studies
  • Example 1: Not Taking “No” for an Answer
  • Example 1 Quiz
  • Example 2: The Boss with a Bad Attitude
  • Example 2 Quiz
  • Example 3: No Job for a Woman?
  • Example 3 Quiz
  • Example 4: A Distasteful Trade
  • Example 4 Quiz
  • Example 5: An Issue about Appearances
  • Example 5 Quiz
  • Chapter Feedback
#8   Resources
  • Resources
#9   PLACEHOLDER: Your Sexual Harassment Prevention Policy
  • Add Your Company Harassment Prevention Policy Here
#10   Thank You!
  • Course Feedback
Get This Course

What You’ll Learn

Connecticut Sexual Harassment Training course for supervisors

Upon completion of this online Sexual Harassment Training course, learners will be able to:

  • Identify sexual harassment in the workplace
  • Effectively respond to cases of sexual harassment
  • Understand the laws governing sexual harassment
  • Know the roles of employers, employees, & supervisors

What Are the Federal & State Training Requirements?

Federal: Fair Employment and Housing Act and Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act of 1964, FEHA and Title VII statutory provisions and case law concerning the prohibition against and the prevention of retaliation in employment, unlawful sexual harassment, discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity, such as lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT).

To make it easy for you, we’ve provided state-wise sexual harrassment prevention training requirements below along with recommended customizable and ready-to-use training courses.

State

California(AB 1825, AB 2053 and S.B. 396, S.B 1343)

Connecticut (Connecticut Human Rights and Opportunity Act)

Delaware (Delaware Discrimination in Employment Act)

Illinois (Illinois Human Rights Act)

Maine (Sexual Harassment Training and Education in the Workplace Law)

New York (New York State Division of Human Rights)

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

Training Requirements

Starting January 1, 2020, Senate Bill 1343 requires employers with 5 or more employees, including temporary or seasonal employees, to provide at least 2 hours of sexual harassment training to all supervisory employees and at least one hour of sexual harassment training to all nonsupervisory employees, and once every 2 years thereafter, as specified.

Cal. Gov Code §12950. AB 2053 amends Cal. Gov Code §12950 Learn more

Beginning October 1, 2019, employers, regardless of size, must provide 2 hours of sexual harassment training to all employees. All employees hired on or after October 1, 2019, must receive the training within six months of hire.

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 46a-54(15)(B). Conn. Agencies Regs. § 46a-54-204. Learn more

Employers with 4 or more employees, including state and local governments must provide sexual harassment training to all employees within six months of assuming office, and the training must be conducted every two years. It also applies to employment agencies and to labor organizations.

(HB 360) Learn more

Effective January 1, 2020, SB75 requires all employers with 1 or more employees to provide sexual harassment prevention training to all employees and supervisors within the first calendar week of the employee's employment, and on an annual basis thereafter.

Comp. Stat., Chap. 775, § 2-105(B)(5). Learn more

All employers with 15 or more employees who are located in or doing business in the state of Maine must train all employees about sexual harassment within a year of the beginning of their employment.

26 Me. Rev. Stat. § 807(3). Learn more

Beginning October 9, 2018, all private and public employers in the state of New York are required to conduct annual anti-harassment training for all employees and distribute a written anti-harassment policy. Learn more

Not required, but recommended. The state encourages employers to take any necessary preventative measures against sexual harassment because prevention is the best way to eliminate sexual harassment. Suggested methods include raising the issue, condemning sexual harassment, and discussing employees’ rights in sexual harassment incidents. Learn more

View All Harassment Courses

Training Maker Includes

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Connecticut sexual harassment training?

The CT sexual harassment prevention training is an educational and training process for employees and supervisors working in Connecticut. Employers having three or more employees must provide this training to all employees. Upon completion of such a training program, employees must be able to understand the laws governing sexual harassment, identify sexual harassment in the workplace, and respond to incidents of sexual harassment effectively.

How to administer sexual harassment training to my employees?

Administering sexual harassment training is easy with a ready-to-use course and a learning management system to deliver it. All you need to do is pick the sexual harassment training course for your state from ProProfs library. Alternatively, if you like, you can customize a course with your branding, company harassment policy, and make any changes you wish to. Next, you can simply upload a spreadsheet containing a list of learners or add them one by one. At ProProfs, you can do an automated sync with your HRIS. Take a look at this easy guide to learn How to Conduct Sexual Harassment Training.

How many courses can a user take?

As many as they want. Your account comes with 100+ ready-to-use courses including DEI, sexual harassment, OSHA, HIPAA & many more. There is no charge per course.

How do I assign courses to my employees?

There are many options. You can bulk-upload contacts from spreadsheets, send email links to learners for self-enrollment, or connect ProProfs with your HRIS, which auto-syncs your contact database. Here’s a quick guide to learn How to Bulk-Import Contacts in ProProfs LMS.

Are LGBTQIA+ employees protected from workplace sexual harassment?

Yes, LGBTQIA+ employees are protected from workplace sexual harassment, just like all other employees. The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, EEOC, has said that workplace harassment because of an employee's gender identity or expression is sexual harassment. Harassment that happens because someone doesn’t fit traditional gender stereotypes of masculinity or femininity is a type of sexual harassment. Workplace harassment against LGBT people is always rooted in other people's belief that they are not acting how a woman or man "should" act, therefore making it sexual harassment.

It is unlawful to harass a person because of that person's sex, including the person's sexual orientation, gender identity, or pregnancy. Learn More

Who needs to take Connecticut sexual harassment training?

According to Connecticut’s Time’s Up Act, which expanded the existing sexual harassment training requirements, employers with three or more employees must provide two hours of interactive training to all employees and supervisors by October 1, 2020. New employees must be trained no later than six months upon hire. Employers with less than three employees are required to provide the training only to supervisors by October 1, 2020.

What are the latest guidelines on Connecticut sexual harassment training?

The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) published FAQs, a poster, and other written materials, highlighting the importance of preventing sexual harassment in the workplace. The commission has also made available a free online education and training video on its website, which employers will find helpful in meeting the legal obligations. The training shall be inclusive of information related to the federal and state statutory provisions on sexual harassment as well as the remedies available to victims of sexual harassment.

When does this course start and finish?

This course is self-paced, and is available as soon as you open your account. You can assign the course to your employees anytime, and you can set deadlines for them. The course is always available to you, so you can require employees to take it again or as required by your policy or state (e.g. every two years).

How long do I get the course access?

As long as your account is active, you can access the course. If you cancel your account, you will lose access to the course.

What happens when an employee leaves?

You can archive the user if they leave your organization. The reports would remain intact, and it would free up the license so you can now train a new employee without any additional cost.

Can I edit the course?

Yes. You can make any changes to the course, such as adding your logo, company information, or custom content. If you do make changes, please check federal and state guidelines to ensure you maintain compliance.

How is the course accessed?

You will be able to administer and manage the course from your ProProfs Training Maker account. You can share the course with your employees using our Classroom feature. Or you may send them an email containing a link to the course if you prefer. Your employees can access the course via phone, tablet, or desktop. You can set up groups and automate course notifications & reminders.

How can I add my company’s harassment policy to the course?

There is a placeholder location in the course where you can add your company’s harassment policy. You can type in, copy and paste or even upload files directly into the training course, including: zip, doc, docx, ppt, pptx, pdf, swf, jpg, png, gif, flv, mp4, mp3, m4v. You can also add your policy to the classroom as a downloadable file.

Do you provide learner tracking (LMS)?

Yes. ProProfs Training Maker is a complete Learning Management System (LMS). You can automate reminders, ensure compliance, track all records, create groups and group admins, integrate with SCORM, xAPI, and more. You can create course bundles and learning paths, and access insightful reports and analytics. You can also build your own courses for any other training needs.

How can I access training reports?

The course completion and pending reports are automatically generated in your account. You can share access to these reports easily within your company. You can also use these reports to send reminders to improve completion.

Can I pay one time to access this?

You can pay a one-time annual fee and access the course for a full 12 months. We also have a monthly payment program that allows you to access the course on a month-to-month basis. Remember that your active subscription includes full access to all sexual harassment courses, more than 35 additional training courses, as well as completion certificates, and all training records.

ProProfs is a Recognized Leader in Employee Training

Press & Ratings

Create a Course Get a Demo